City Council

 Barb carla-moxley  
Barb Yergler – Ward One
Chairman – Economic & Industrial Development  
Chairman- Police/Health, Light and Nuisance
Gibson Area Chamber of Commerce Liaison
Carla Moxley
City Clerk
Scott Davis– Ward Three
Chairman - Streets & Alleys
dean-kidd dennis-pardick  
Dean Kidd – Ward One
Chairman - Parks & Buildings
Pool Board Liaison
Dennis Pardick – Ward Four
Chairman – Personnel
Mayor Pro-Tem
Laura Miller – Ward Four
marc-miller nelda-jordan scott-shull
Marc Miller
City Attorney
Nelda Jordan – Ward Two
Chairman - Finance
Chairman - Recycling Board
Telecare Liaison
Mayor Pro-Tem
Scott Shull
City Treasurer
Katie Benningfield, Cassidy Brucker, and Miranda Patton
Junior Aldermen
Bette Lain - Ward Two
Chairman -Ordinance
John Carlson – Ward Three
Chairman – Water & Sewer
School Board Liaison

Job Opportunities

 Wastewater Operator


     The City of Gibson (pop. 3407), is seeking an experienced Wastewater Operator.  Duties include Manual labor including: Building, Mechanical and Electrical grounds maintenance. Performing lab work and record keeping, maintain clarifiers and screen cleaning, haul liquid bio-solids to farm ground. Must have or be able to attain CDL license within 6 months of employment.  Wastewater certification is a plus.  The Class II Certification is required By IEPA to operate the plant. 


     Starting salary range is $15.00 to $20.00/hour depending upon qualifications.  The City offers an excellent benefit package including:  Vacation, one week after the first year, two weeks after the second year and three weeks after 5 years. Each year you would receive 16 hrs. of Personal time.  Sick leave is accumulated at 8 hours per month; you may accumulate up to 90 days.  We have 9 paid Holidays per year. Health insurance is covered at a rate of 75% by the City. Retirement benefits are through IMRF. If hired you must be able to relocate within the City limits within one year of employment.


To apply you may contact Randy Stauffer (City Superintendent) at

217-784-4388, email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or send you resume to:  City of Gibson, P O Box 545 Gibson City, IL 60936-0545


All resumes must be received by May 15, 2015.

  The Gibson City Police Department is now seeking applications for the position of Administrative Assistant to the Chief of Police. Typing/computer skills are a must. The successful candidate must pass a background check and have no criminal history. This will be a 32 hour a week position and the candidate will work directly with the Chief of Police. Salary and benefits will be discussed during interviews.  Applications can be picked up at the Police Department and must be received no later than 04:00 pm Friday, May 1.